Hey all! It’s been awhile. Months if not a year with all the Covid stuff but after my daughter wrote a Mother’s Day note saying the best thing I make is these homemade Daddy bars, I thought I’d hop on to share the recipe.

My kiddos are picky. I would say normal kid picky but I know plenty of kids who will try much more than they do. One item that took me by surprise that they eat was the Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Larabar. Chris started eating these when he started the Paleo diet years ago. We started calling them Daddy Bars just since it was always his quick snack. One day the kids tried them and now they are the kids’ favorite granola bars.

I came upon this recipe on social media and altered it a bit for us to make it as much like Daddy bars my kids know and love. My trick was making them while the kids were not home so that when they tried and loved them, they were hooked!! And guess what, it worked!! And now they love to help make them even knowing the filling is made up of nuts (that they won’t eat by their lonesome).

In our recipe, I use 1-2 each cups of chopped pecans, walnuts and almonds. I do not add coconut as I can only ask so much of the kids. Ha! And then add the salt, coconut oil, peanut butter, pure maple syrup, vanilla and chocolate chips. I also swear by the Enjoy Life chocolate chunks for this recipe but do chop them up a bit.

https://www.paleorunningmomma.com/grain-free-peanut-butter-granola-bars-vegan-paleo-option/

Jaxon and I just made them today and they’ll be lucky to last the week.

Hope you enjoy!

~Mel